U.S. Bank HELOC Review: Rates, Fees, Terms (2026)
Key takeaways
- U.S. Bank HELOC variable APR ranged from 6.20% to 11.10% as of September 17, 2026, indexed to the Wall Street Journal prime rate (7.00% per the Fed's H.15), floor 3.25%, cap 18%.
- No application fees or closing costs; $75 annual fee after year one (waived with a U.S. Bank Platinum Checking Package); 1% early-closure fee, maximum $500, within the first 30 months.
- Typical 10-year draw period, then a 20-year principal-plus-interest repayment period; interest-only payments during the draw come with the bank's own payment-shock warning; up to three active Fixed Rate Options.
- Minimum FICO score 660; the lowest rate needs a 730+ score, a $50,000+ limit, LTV of 60% or less and U.S. Bank autopay. Line amounts, maximum LTV and the state list are DATA UNAVAILABLE on the bank pages read.
- On $50,000 drawn, interest-only runs $258.33 to $462.50 a month across the range and 20-year repayment $364.01 to $519.50 (hypothetical, rate held constant, fees excluded).
As of September 17, 2026, a U.S. Bank HELOC carried a variable APR between 6.20% and 11.10%, with no application fees or closing costs, a $75 annual fee after the first year, a 1% early-closure fee (maximum $500) if the line is closed within 30 months, a typical 10-year draw period followed by a 20-year repayment period, and a stated minimum FICO score of 660.
Every U.S. Bank figure here comes from the bank's own HELOC disclosures, read on October 8, 2026 and dated by the bank "as of September 17, 2026", plus the Federal Reserve's H.15 release for the prime rate and the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau's HELOC booklet. Rates change, so confirm the current range with U.S. Bank before you apply. Third-party reviews that rank for this search quote APR ranges and an annual fee that differ from the bank's current page; this review does not repeat them. This site has no affiliate relationship with U.S. Bank, has not applied for or tested the product, and offers general information, not personalised financial advice. Below: a dated terms table, a fee table and monthly-cost illustrations at the bank's own APR range.
U.S. Bank HELOC at a glance (as of September 17, 2026)
U.S. Bank, the banking subsidiary of U.S. Bancorp, offers a standard home equity line of credit: a variable-rate revolving line secured by your home. The table collects what the bank's product page and its "how HELOCs work" page state. Where the pages read give no figure, the row says so rather than borrowing one from a third-party review. If you already have a quoted rate, model the payment in the HELOC payment calculator before reading further.
| Term | U.S. Bank disclosure | Source date |
|---|---|---|
| Variable APR range | 6.20% APR to 11.10% APR | Bank "as of" September 17, 2026 |
| Index | Prime rate as published in the Wall Street Journal, plus a margin (margin not published) | September 17, 2026 disclosure |
| Rate floor and cap | Never below 3.25% APR; never above 18% APR or the applicable state limit | September 17, 2026 disclosure |
| Application fee and closing costs | None | September 17, 2026 disclosure |
| Annual fee | $75 after the first year; waived with an existing U.S. Bank Platinum Checking Package | September 17, 2026 disclosure |
| Early closure fee | 1% of the original line amount, maximum $500, if paid off and closed within the first 30 months | September 17, 2026 disclosure |
| Draw period | Typically 10 years | Bank "how HELOCs work" page, read October 8, 2026 |
| Repayment period | 20 years, principal plus interest on the outstanding balance | Bank "how HELOCs work" page, read October 8, 2026 |
| Fixed Rate Option | Available; a maximum of three active Fixed Rate Options per line | Bank "how HELOCs work" page, read October 8, 2026 |
| Minimum credit score | FICO score of 660 or higher | September 17, 2026 disclosure |
| Line amounts | DATA UNAVAILABLE on the bank pages read | October 8, 2026 |
| Maximum loan-to-value ratio | Not stated; the bank's rate rises when LTV is above 60% | September 17, 2026 disclosure |
| Availability | "Not all programs in all states for all loan amounts"; state list not published on the pages read | September 17, 2026 disclosure |
How U.S. Bank sets your HELOC rate
Prime rate plus a margin
The annual percentage rate (APR) on a U.S. Bank HELOC is variable: an index plus a margin, where the index is the Wall Street Journal prime rate. The Federal Reserve's H.15 statistical release showed the bank prime loan rate at 7.00% with data through October 6, 2026. U.S. Bank does not publish its margins. The bottom of the range, 6.20%, sits below the 7.00% prime rate, and the bank's footnote reserves its lowest rate for borrowers who meet every condition listed below. For how prime has moved and what that does to HELOC quotes, see where HELOC rates stand right now.
Four things that raise the rate
U.S. Bank's disclosure says your rate may vary from the lowest advertised rate because of location, a change in the prime rate, and four borrower-specific conditions:
- a credit limit below $50,000;
- a loan-to-value ratio above 60%;
- a credit score below 730;
- no automatic payments from a U.S. Bank consumer checking or savings account (autopay is required for the lowest rate).
Note the two score thresholds: a FICO score of 660 is the stated minimum to qualify, and 730 is the level below which the bank says the rate can be higher. A borrower at 680 can qualify but should not expect 6.20%.
Floor and cap
The disclosure fixes a lifetime floor and ceiling: the rate will never fall below 3.25% APR and will never exceed 18% APR or the applicable state law limit. With prime at 7.00% the cap is distant, but it bounds your worst case if prime rises during a 10-year draw period and a 20-year repayment period.
Fees: what U.S. Bank charges and what it waives
U.S. Bank's disclosure states plainly that "there are no application fees or closing costs". The costs that remain are an annual fee, an early-closure fee and the usual requirement to insure the property.
| Fee | Amount | When / waiver |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee | $0 | None charged (bank disclosure, September 17, 2026) |
| Closing costs | $0 | None charged (bank disclosure, September 17, 2026) |
| Annual fee | $75 | Charged after the first year; waived if you hold an existing U.S. Bank Platinum Checking Package |
| Early closure fee | 1% of the original line amount, capped at $500 | Only if the line is paid off and closed within the first 30 months |
| Property insurance | Set by your insurer | Required for the life of the line; the bank does not state a cost |
| Appraisal and other third-party costs | DATA UNAVAILABLE | Not itemised on the pages read |
The early-closure fee is easy to size because of the cap. On a $50,000 line, 1% is $500, exactly the cap; on a $100,000 line the fee is still $500; on a $30,000 line it would be $300. It only bites if you close the line inside 30 months, so a borrower who plans to refinance or sell within two and a half years should budget for it. The annual fee is smaller but recurring: $75 a year for the nine years after the first year of a 10-year draw period is $675 if it is never waived, which is why the U.S. Bank Platinum Checking Package waiver is worth checking before you apply.
Draw period, repayment period and fixed-rate options
U.S. Bank describes the structure in two stages. The draw period is "typically 10 years": you can borrow, repay and borrow again up to your limit. When the draw period ends, any outstanding balance converts to a principal-plus-interest loan for a 20-year repayment period. The bank also notes that repayment options may vary, so confirm the terms on your own agreement.
Interest-only during the draw
During the draw period U.S. Bank offers an interest-only payment option, and its disclosure warns that choosing it may cause the monthly payment to increase, possibly substantially, once the repayment period begins, because principal then falls due as well as interest. The bank adds that the interest-only option may not be available in every case. The next section shows the size of that jump at the bank's own rate range.
Up to three Fixed Rate Options
A Fixed Rate Option lets you convert part of the variable balance to a fixed rate. U.S. Bank limits this: "a maximum of three active Fixed Rate Options are permitted on a Home Equity Line of Credit". The pages read do not state the fixed rates, terms or any fee for a lock, so ask for the Fixed Rate Option terms in writing. The full footnoted disclosure is on the U.S. Bank home equity line of credit page.
What a $50,000 U.S. Bank HELOC could cost per month
The table applies standard payment formulas to a $50,000 balance at three points in the bank's published APR range, plus 7.00% because that is the current prime rate. These are our calculations, not a U.S. Bank quote.
| APR | Interest-only (draw period) | 20-year principal + interest |
|---|---|---|
| 6.20% (bottom of the range) | $258.33 | $364.01 |
| 7.00% (equal to prime) | $291.67 | $387.65 |
| 8.00% | $333.33 | $418.22 |
| 11.10% (top of the range) | $462.50 | $519.50 |
Hypothetical: rate held constant for the full term; excludes the $75 annual fee and any early-closure fee; interest-only assumes the $50,000 balance is not repaid during the draw period. A variable rate will move with the prime rate, so your real payments will differ.
Two things stand out. The payment shock the bank warns about is visible in every row: at 8.00% the payment goes from $333.33 interest-only to $418.22 once principal is due, about $85 a month more. And the rate you qualify for matters more than the interest-only choice: the top-of-range interest-only payment ($462.50) is larger than the bottom-of-range fully amortising payment ($364.01). Enter the APR U.S. Bank quotes you, your line size and your draw plan into the payment calculator and compare interest-only against principal-plus-interest before you draw.
Who qualifies
The published eligibility rules are short. U.S. Bank states that to qualify for a HELOC "you'll need a FICO score of 660 or higher". The lowest rate requires automatic payments from a U.S. Bank consumer checking or savings account, and the bank's pricing conditions favour a credit limit of $50,000 or more, a loan-to-value ratio of 60% or below and a credit score of 730 or above. Property insurance is required.
What the bank pages do not state matters as much. Minimum and maximum line amounts, the maximum loan-to-value ratio the bank will lend to, the list of states where the HELOC is offered, and any choice of repayment terms are DATA UNAVAILABLE on the pages read; the disclosure says only that not all programs are available in all states for all loan amounts. Check these with U.S. Bank directly. Customer-review scores are not reported here because they could not be verified.
Pros and cons, from the disclosures
Drawn only from the terms above, not from opinion or customer reviews.
- Pro: no application fees or closing costs. Opening the line costs nothing up front per the September 17, 2026 disclosure.
- Pro: a clear waiver path for the annual fee. An existing U.S. Bank Platinum Checking Package removes the $75 charge.
- Pro: up to three Fixed Rate Options. You can fix part of the balance more than once during the line's life.
- Pro: a 20-year repayment period. A longer runway after the draw period keeps the principal-plus-interest payment lower than a shorter term would.
- Con: the $75 annual fee and the 1% early-closure fee. Both are avoidable, but only with the checking package or by keeping the line open past 30 months.
- Con: four conditions for the best rate. A line under $50,000, LTV over 60%, a score under 730 or no U.S. Bank autopay each pushes you above 6.20%.
- Con: interest-only payment shock. The bank itself warns the payment may rise substantially after the draw period.
- Con: published gaps. Line amounts, maximum LTV and state availability are not on the pages read.
For a same-format comparison, the Citizens Bank HELOC review covers a lender with $0 to open, a $50 annual fee after year one and a 680 minimum score.
Before you sign: CFPB reminders
The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau's booklet "What you should know about Home Equity Lines of Credit" describes a HELOC as a line you borrow from, spend and repay as you go, using your home as collateral. Its central warning applies to a U.S. Bank HELOC as much as to any other: if you fall behind or cannot repay the loan on schedule, you could lose your home. The booklet also describes the same two-stage structure U.S. Bank uses, a draw period followed by a repayment period that is often ten or 15 years, or in some products a balloon payment.
The booklet adds a point borrowers rarely plan for: HELOCs generally permit the lender to freeze or reduce your credit line if the value of your home falls or if the lender sees a change for the worse in your financial situation. A line you expect to draw on in year seven may not be there in year seven. Keep a buffer that does not depend on the line, and read the freeze and reduction clauses of your U.S. Bank agreement before you sign.
Frequently asked questions
What is the current U.S. Bank HELOC rate range?
As of September 17, 2026, U.S. Bank disclosed a variable rate range of 6.20% APR to 11.10% APR, indexed to the Wall Street Journal prime rate (7.00% per the Federal Reserve's H.15 release, data through October 6, 2026). The rate can never go below 3.25% or above 18% APR. Rates change, so confirm the current range with U.S. Bank.
Does U.S. Bank charge closing costs on a HELOC?
No. The bank's disclosure dated September 17, 2026 states there are no application fees or closing costs. You still pay for property insurance, a $75 annual fee after the first year unless waived, and a 1% early-closure fee (maximum $500) if you close the line within the first 30 months.
What is the U.S. Bank HELOC annual fee and how is it waived?
The annual fee is $75, charged after the first year. U.S. Bank waives it for customers with an existing U.S. Bank Platinum Checking Package, per the September 17, 2026 disclosure.
How long is the U.S. Bank HELOC draw period?
U.S. Bank says the draw period is typically 10 years. After it ends, any outstanding balance converts to a principal-plus-interest loan with a 20-year repayment period. Interest-only payments may be available during the draw, with the bank's own warning that the payment can then rise substantially.
Can I lock a fixed rate on part of a U.S. Bank HELOC?
Yes. U.S. Bank offers a Fixed Rate Option on the line, with a maximum of three active Fixed Rate Options at any time. The fixed rates, terms and any lock fee were not stated on the pages read, so ask the bank for them in writing.
What credit score does U.S. Bank require for a HELOC?
U.S. Bank states you need a FICO score of 660 or higher to qualify. Its lowest rate is reserved for borrowers with a score of 730 or above, a credit limit of $50,000 or more, a loan-to-value ratio of 60% or below and automatic payments from a U.S. Bank checking or savings account.
Run your own numbers free.
Open calculatorThis article is general information, not financial, tax or legal advice. Figures are approximate and change over time — always verify with a qualified professional or the official source before making a decision.
Written and reviewed by the HELOC Payment Calculator editorial team. Facts checked against primary sources; see the reference above.