Home › HELOC lender reviews › Figure HELOC Review 2026: Speed vs Fees Explained

Figure HELOC Review 2026: Speed vs Fees Explained

HP By HELOC Payment Calculator Editorial· Updated 2026-09-30·10 min read

Key takeaways

Figure HELOC reviews agree Figure is fast. The Figure Home Equity Line is an online home equity line of credit that funds the whole line at closing, fixes the rate on each draw and charges a 0% to 4.99% origination fee on the initial draw (Figure's FAQ, accessed 30 September 2026). It suits borrowers who need the full amount now.

It is a poor fit for a "just in case" credit line. This review uses Figure's own published terms as the dated baseline, converts the fee and full-draw structure into dollars, and shows where third-party reviews disagree. We are an independent calculator site: we have not applied for or tested a Figure line, and nothing here is a quote.

Figure HELOC reviews: the quick verdict

Figure built its product around speed. Figure's FAQ says the application takes about five minutes and funds can be disbursed in as soon as five business days, and that window includes the mandatory three-business-day right to cancel on a primary residence. Valuation is done with an automated valuation model rather than a traditional appraiser visit, and closing can often be done with an eNotary.

The trade-off is structure. A traditional HELOC gives you a limit and lets you borrow only what you need during a draw period, usually at a variable rate tied to the prime rate. The Figure Home Equity Line works more like a home equity loan with a redraw feature: the full line is drawn at closing (minus the origination fee), the rate on that draw is fixed, and principal and interest payments start straight away. Because the structure differs, the fairest way to compare HELOC lenders is on the same amount, term and APR.

Who it suits

Who should skip it

Figure HELOC specs at a glance (from Figure's FAQ, Sept 2026)

Figure's FAQ is the primary source for this table. Figure can change its terms at any time, so check the current FAQ and your own offer before you rely on any number. Figure's licensing record can be looked up on the NMLS Consumer Access database (NerdWallet and Finder both list Figure's NMLS ID as 1717824).

FeatureFigure's stated termsWhat it means for you
Line amount$15,000 to $400,000 in most states; Alaska minimum $25,001; Texas minimum $35,000; $400,000 aggregate limit per borrower/property. The homepage separately advertises "borrow up to $750,000".The FAQ and homepage do not match. Treat $400,000 as the working ceiling unless your offer says otherwise.
Minimum credit score640 in most states; duplexes 680 with a maximum 45% debt-to-income ratio; investment properties 660 or 680 (different FAQ entries show different figures).Confirm the investment-property minimum in writing before you apply.
Terms5, 10, 15 or 30 years; no separate draw and repayment phases.Payments include principal from the start.
RateFixed at the time of each draw. Homepage advertised "rates as low as 7.35% APR" on 30 Sept 2026, subject to footnoted conditions.Your rate depends on your profile; the advertised floor is not a quote.
Origination fee0% to 4.99% of the initial draw, depending on credit profile and property state; deducted from the loan amount.You receive less cash than your line amount.
Discounts0.25% APR for autopay; 0.25% APR credit union discount.Credit union membership must be kept for the life of the line.
ValuationAutomated valuation model; Broker Price Opinion if no AVM is available.Usually no appraiser visit.
PaymentsACH only (no cash, checks or cards).Set up autopay to also earn the discount.

Lenders size any home equity line on combined loan-to-value (CLTV), which is your existing mortgage balance plus the new line divided by the home's value. Figure's FAQ does not publish a single maximum CLTV, so a figure quoted by a review site should be confirmed against your offer.

How the Figure line works: full draw, fixed rate per draw, redraws

A classic home equity line of credit has two phases. During the draw period you borrow as needed and often pay interest only. In the repayment period you pay back principal and interest. The rate is usually variable: prime plus a margin. For context, the bank prime loan rate was 7.00% on each business day of the week of 21 to 25 September 2026, according to the Federal Reserve's H.15 release.

Figure's version is different in three ways.

Why the whole line funds at closing

According to Figure's FAQ, your initial draw equals your credit limit minus the origination fee. You cannot open a $100,000 line and take only $20,000 on day one. That matters because interest runs on the full balance from the start.

A rough illustration: say you need $20,000 now and may need $30,000 next year. On a traditional HELOC at an example 8.00% rate, first-year interest on the $20,000 you actually used is about $1,600. With a full $50,000 draw at the same example rate, first-year interest is close to $4,000, less a little as principal is paid down. That gap, plus a fee calculated on the whole line, is the real cost of "funds in days".

Additional draws: $500 minimum, new fixed rate

As you repay principal, capacity opens up again. Figure's FAQ says additional draws have a $500 minimum, can go up to your available capacity, and each carries its own rate fixed at the time of that draw. Lines opened before 21 September 2020 may have a lower redraw limit.

Timing is limited. Figure's FAQ says additional draws are available for 2 to 5 years from origination, depending on the loan term. After that window closes, the line behaves like a fixed installment loan.

Redraw term ends on the original maturity date

Each additional draw is repaid from the draw date to the end of the original term, not over a fresh term. Example: on a 10-year line where your redraw window runs at least four years, a $10,000 draw taken at the start of year 5 must be repaid over the remaining six years. At an example 8.00% rate that is about $175 a month, versus about $121 a month if the same $10,000 were spread over a full 10 years. Late redraws cost more per month.

What Figure really costs: origination fee and third-party charges

Figure's FAQ says there are no account-opening, maintenance or prepayment fees. The main cost is the origination fee, and it is taken out of your proceeds.

Origination fee in dollars

The table below is plain arithmetic on Figure's published 0% to 4.99% range. Your actual fee depends on your credit profile and property state.

Line amountFee at 0%Fee at 2%Fee at 4.99%Cash received at 4.99%
$25,000$0$500$1,247.50$23,752.50
$50,000$0$1,000$2,495$47,505
$100,000$0$2,000$4,990$95,010
$200,000$0$4,000$9,980$190,020

Because the fee is part of the balance, you pay interest on it too. If you would only use half the line, a 4.99% fee effectively costs you close to 10% of the money you actually needed.

Third-party costs you may still pay

Figure's FAQ lists pass-through costs that can apply depending on your county and property:

For a wider view of what lenders charge, see our guide to HELOC closing costs and fees.

Autopay and credit-union discounts

Autopay knocks 0.25% off the APR, and a separate 0.25% credit union discount is available. Figure's FAQ says the credit union membership must be kept for the life of the HELOC, at no cost to maintain. Confirm both discounts are reflected in the APR on your final disclosure.

Payment example: 10-year vs 30-year term on the same draw

Term choice drives the monthly payment more than anything else. The figures below use a $50,000 draw and an example 8.00% fixed APR. This is an illustration only, not a Figure quote.

TermMonthly paymentTotal interest over the term
5 years$1,013.82about $10,830
10 years$606.64about $22,800
15 years$477.83about $36,010
30 years$366.88about $82,080

The 30-year term cuts the payment by about $240 a month against 10 years but more than triples total interest. Run your own offer through the HELOC payment calculator before you sign. If you prefer to understand the fixed-versus-variable trade-off first, our fixed-rate HELOC explainer covers it.

Where Figure reviews disagree (and how to check)

Three Figure HELOC reviews often give three sets of numbers. This table sets Figure's FAQ against named third-party reviewers so you know what to confirm.

SpecFigure FAQ (accessed 30 Sept 2026)Other reviewers (named, dated)How to verify
Minimum credit score640 in most statesNerdWallet (updated 6 May 2026) and SuperMoney (updated 31 May 2026) list 600Use 640 as the planning figure; check your pre-qualification result.
Investment-property credit minimum660 in one FAQ answer, 680 in anotherFinder (updated 26 May 2026) cites 680Ask for the minimum in writing.
Maximum line$400,000 in most statesFigure's homepage and SuperMoney cite $750,000Your offer shows your actual limit.
Redraw window2 to 5 years from origination, by termNerdWallet describes 3 to 5 yearsCheck the redraw end date in your agreement.
Maximum LTVNot stated as a single figureNerdWallet cites 85%Ask what CLTV your offer is based on.
Better Business Bureau ratingNot statedReview sites report conflicting gradesLook it up on the BBB site on the day you apply.
APR range"As low as 7.35% APR" advertised 30 Sept 2026SuperMoney lists 5.80% to 14.70% as of 14 JanuaryOnly your offer's APR counts.

NerdWallet rates Figure's HELOC 4.5 out of 5. We do not assign a star rating because we have not tested the product. Is Figure legit? It is a licensed lender with an NMLS record you can check. Legit and right for you are different questions, and that is what the fee and full-draw maths answers.

Application, valuation and closing

Automated valuation instead of an appraisal

Figure uses an automated valuation model, a software estimate built from public records and comparable sales, instead of a traditional appraisal. If an AVM is not available for your home, Figure's FAQ says it orders a Broker Price Opinion, which can carry the $180 valuation cost. An AVM can come in below what you think your home is worth, which reduces the line you are offered.

eNotary vs manual notary

Where the county allows electronic notarization, you can close online. Where it does not, Figure's FAQ lists a $380 manual notarization cost.

3-day right to cancel

For a primary residence, the Truth in Lending Act gives you a right of rescission: three business days after closing to cancel without penalty. Figure's "as soon as five business days" funding estimate already includes this waiting period. Use it to re-read your final APR, fee and term.

Figure vs a traditional credit-union HELOC: decision checklist

The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau's plain warning applies to every lender: a HELOC is secured by your home, and if you fall behind on payments you could lose your home. Before choosing Figure over a local credit union or bank, work through these questions:

Whatever you choose, get at least two written offers and run each at the same term, so you compare APR, fee and monthly payment like for like.

Frequently asked questions

Is Figure HELOC legit?

Figure is a licensed lender with an NMLS record (NerdWallet and Finder list NMLS 1717824) that you can check on NMLS Consumer Access. Whether it suits you depends on the origination fee you are offered and whether you need the full line at closing.

What credit score do you need for a Figure HELOC?

Figure's FAQ lists a 640 minimum in most states and 680 for duplexes. For investment properties its FAQ shows both 660 and 680, so confirm the requirement in your offer. Some review sites quote 600, which does not match Figure's FAQ.

Do you have to take the full Figure HELOC amount at closing?

Yes. Figure's FAQ says the initial draw equals your credit limit minus the origination fee, so interest runs on the full amount from day one. Additional draws of $500 or more are possible as you repay, within a 2 to 5 year window.

Does Figure require a home appraisal?

Usually not. Figure uses an automated valuation model. If none is available it uses a Broker Price Opinion, which Figure's FAQ says may cost $180.

Can I pay off a Figure HELOC early?

Figure's FAQ says there are no prepayment fees. The origination fee is not refunded, because it was deducted when the line funded.

Is Figure HELOC available in every state?

Availability and minimum amounts vary by state (for example $25,001 in Alaska and $35,000 in Texas per Figure's FAQ). Check Figure's site for your state before applying.

Authoritative referenceUS Consumer Financial Protection Bureau ↗

Run your own numbers free.

Open calculator

This article is general information, not financial, tax or legal advice. Figures are approximate and change over time — always verify with a qualified professional or the official source before making a decision.

Written and reviewed by the HELOC Payment Calculator editorial team. Facts checked against primary sources; see the reference above.

← All articles